Listen Live

grid post

Kabila Retains Loyalists In New Cabinet


May 10, 2017


The Democratic Republic of Congo President Joseph Kabila has named a new transitional government.

Prime Minister Bruno Tshibala, appointed by President Kabila last month, heads the new power-sharing government.

The president co-opted some opposition members, but maintained his loyalists in key ministries; including Finance, Mines, Oil, Justice, Interior and Foreign Affairs.

Mr Tshibala landed his new job following his dismissal from the largest opposition party, UDPS, for contesting the designation of successors to veteran leader Etienne Tshisekedi, who died in February.

The new Cabinet of roughly 60 ministers and vice-ministers was announced on state television Tuesday.

In power since 2001, President Kabila was supposed to step down after his second and final five-year term came to an end last year, but struck a deal with the main opposition bloc to allow him to stay on and appoint an inclusive transitional government.

The deal that also called for elections before the end of the year, without President Kabila as a candidate, witnessed a backlash with the government and opposition leaders unable to agree on the power-sharing mechanism.

Top opposition leaders disagreed with President Kabila over his “unilateral choice” of Mr Tshibala as premier.

The country of 71 million people has not had a peaceful transfer of power since its independence from Belgium in 1960.

Source: echofriknews


Recommended News