Listen Live

grid post

Another South African Sacked Minister Resigns As Mp


Apr 13, 2017


Another sacked South African Cabinet Minister, Ngoako Ramatlhodi, has resigned from his position as a Member of Parliament.

Mr Ramatlhodi was Minister of Public Service and Administration until President Jacob Zuma’s recent Cabinet reshuffle.

His resignation brings to four, the number of MPs from the ruling African National Congress (ANC) who have quit parliament after the much-publicised reshuffle.

The office of the ANC Chief Whip confirmed the resignation on Wednesday afternoon.

“Comrade Ramathlodi has expressed his gratitude to the people of South Africa‚ the leadership and membership of the ANC as well as colleagues in Parliament for the confidence they have bestowed in him over the years of his membership in parliament,” the ANC said.

Mr Ramatlhodi joins Dipuo Peters, Tina Joemat-Pettersson and Mcebisi Jonas, who resigned last week.

Ms Peters served as Minister for Transport while Ms Tina Joemat-Pettersson was Energy Minister. Mr Jonas served as deputy Finance Minister.

After his dismissal, Mr Ramatlhodi said: “I’m relieved. I think we’re at a crossroads, and I hope to keep in mind the interests of the country.”

The former minister also said that those who helped President Zuma rise to power, including himself, must take responsibility for the crisis in the country.

Mr Ramatlhodi served as Mineral Resources Minister before he was replaced in 2015 by Mosebenzi Zwane in yet another Cabinet reshuffle, and redeployed to the Public Service and Administration portfolio



Recommended News